Allegro.cc - Online Community

Allegro.cc Forums » Off-Topic Ordeals » Oklo: Natural Nuclear Reactors

This thread is locked; no one can reply to it. rss feed Print
Oklo: Natural Nuclear Reactors
gnolam
Member #2,030
March 2002

Eh, in 5000 years the radioactive waste we produce today will be basically harmless. Unless you eat it.

--
Move to the Democratic People's Republic of Vivendi Universal (formerly known as Sweden) - officially democracy- and privacy-free since 2008-06-18!

Kauhiz
Member #4,798
July 2004

Mmm, nuclear waste... drools

---
It's Ridge Racer! RIIIIIDGE RAAAAACER!

LennyLen
Member #5,313
December 2004

Quote:

You never know, maybe someone leaned on the big red "bypass safety" button by mistake. Or they unplugged someone's workstation to get the coffee maker/jukebox/pinball machine to work.

I used to work in a factory that had a press cutter, which is basically a machine with two horizontal plates with blades mounted into the top plate. It has a handle similar to a mountain bike handle bars, but with a button on each end. When both buttons are pressed simultaneously, the plates slam together.

The guy who operated it decide he could get more work done if he didn't have to use both hands to push the buttons, so he taped one of the buttons in and used his now-free hand to put in/take out the foam rubber it cut. All went well until someone distracted him while he was working, and he pressed the button while his hand was still between the plates. He now has no fingers and only half a palm.

edit:

Quote:

How can anyone argue against nuclear power?

I've been wondering that for years. New Zealand's anti-nuclear stance really annoys me, because most people just agree with it on principle without ever thinking about the issue. The same people also complain when lack of water in the lakes that feed the hydro stations cause power shortages. ::)

Johan Halmén
Member #1,550
September 2001

Quote:

How can anyone argue against nuclear power?