Ok, so this MAY get trolled out of hand.....BUT
Dizzy Egg

Hello.

First off, I'm pretty drunk, and I've been smoking the best plant on Earth, so keep that in mind.

Second off, I'm studying for a Physics degree, which in this first year includes a broad range of science.

Thirdly off, I'm an Atheist.

So, on to the point. I've been an Atheist from a VERY young age, me and 80% of the kids from our village went to an Atheist primary school, because it was the only one in the village.

I'm still an Atheist, but the more I study now into the depths of 'how it all works' (as such) the more I become conflicted! The sheer mathematical beauty of it all constantly steers me away from 'random events' to 'engineered perfection'.

Is this a common stage for Atheists studying 'how it all works' or am I just smoking too much too often?

:-/

Bruce Perry

You've been smoking chocolate? <3

If it has to be engineered perfection, then the engineering happened in an environment where logical constructs are possible, which is probably an environment that itself has to be engineered to perfection, ad infinitum. Surely to goodness.

So it's clearly just that things somehow naturally work out that way because it's a simple, orthogonal system that can just happen.

Thomas Fjellstrom

In the infinite number of possible universes, at last one was bound to be like ours :)

bamccaig

I grew up "Christian" and became an atheist once I reached an age where I was old enough to start thinking for myself (between 11 and 14, I think). I think that it's good for you to question everything, even science, and potentially good to be exposed to religion, if only to experience first hand how corrupt and ridiculous it is. I don't even know how you can say an "atheist school". To me that's just a school. :-/ Did it teach no god as a religion or just not teach a religion [and teach science AKA knowledge instead]?