Allegro.cc - Online Community

Allegro.cc Forums » Off-Topic Ordeals » What are you working on right now?

This thread is locked; no one can reply to it. rss feed Print
 1   2   3 
What are you working on right now?
bamccaig
Member #7,536
July 2006

Neil Roy said:

Not a lot. My ISP decided to discontinue the webpage service for people so my website with my game suddenly vanished. Not sure if I want to bother putting it elsewhere.

Wasn't Deluxe Pacman relatively very popular? Why on Earth would you not want to publish it again? Setting up a Web site might cost a couple dollars a month, or you could see if a kind soul would be willing to provide you the Web space for free. I'm sure the load isn't very expensive.

Neil Roy
Member #2,229
April 2002

I have thought about it. I have zero experience setting up a website outside of my ISP's which was just a small amount of webspace and you FTP'd your html to it, pretty simple. But paying for a website etc... I don't know, it would be nice I guess but.... I don't make any money from my game.

For the time being I have it stored in Dropbox for anyone to download with links to the games on my Deluxe Pacman Facebook page.

---
“I love you too.” - last words of Wanda Roy

bamccaig
Member #7,536
July 2006

The latter sounds reasonable for the time being. Though for what you need I wouldn't be surprised if you could find a free host. Or as I suggested, find somebody willing to host it for you free. Even if you paid, there are relatively cheap hosts for just a basic static Web site. I imagine most would be setup how your ISP was or similar.