Allegro.cc - Online Community

Allegro.cc Forums » Programming Questions » Split multiplayer screen

This thread is locked; no one can reply to it. rss feed Print
Split multiplayer screen
FrancoJ
Member #16,621
January 2017

Hello, Im new in allegro

I'm making a multiplayer tetris and I want to do a split screen. It's a college proyect and I need to use sockets for the multiplayer with processes (fork()). My question, is it possible to do it? I understood I cant 'share' a display with two different processes simultaneusly using allegro, but is there any other way to do it? I saw the al_set_target_bitmap() function for this kind of things but I dont know how to apply this function and if i can do what i want with it.

Thank and sorry if my english is'nt good at all. ;D

SiegeLord
Member #7,827
October 2006

Only one thread can draw to an ALLEGRO_DISPLAY. Typically you'd just send data to that thread using whatever method you want (sockets, messages, ALLEGRO_EVENTs) and have it draw whatever you need.

In your case, it's a little weird as split screen usually implies a single game process with multiple controllers without any networking. If you want multiple game processes on separate computers communicating via sockets then you typically don't need to use a split screen, although you still could. Either way in that case you'd still have a single thread doing all the drawing (and the game logic), and the only place where multi-processing would come up is exchanging the game state between the game clients and the server.

There's an example in Allegro (ex_enet_client and ex_enet_server) that illustrate how to write a networked game that you could use as an inspiration.

"For in much wisdom is much grief: and he that increases knowledge increases sorrow."-Ecclesiastes 1:18
[SiegeLord's Abode][Codes]:[DAllegro5]:[RustAllegro]

Chris Katko
Member #1,881
January 2002

Yeah, split-screen games aren't multi-threaded (that is, it's not required).

Here's how I do it: