Allegro.cc - Online Community

Allegro.cc Forums » Game Design & Concepts » Anyone out there familiar with programming want to colloborate?

This thread is locked; no one can reply to it. rss feed Print
 1   2 
Anyone out there familiar with programming want to colloborate?
Tyler Wrobel
Member #16,594
November 2016

Anyone out there familiar with programming want to work on an open source team project building a game? I am still learning C++. I have a lot of experience designing top down games in flash (actionscipt 2.0). Anyone interested in talking the shit or about our ideas. I figure we could probably use something like a git repository to collaborate in real time. I still have some legacy code of my I would like to spin up into a game.

I definitely want to build in C/C++, but I am willing to compromise.

Niunio
Member #1,975
March 2002

Why not Pascal? ::)

-----------------
Current projects: Allegro.pas | MinGRo

Tyler Wrobel
Member #16,594
November 2016

Is pascal portable?

Niunio
Member #1,975
March 2002

Is pascal portable?

Don't you know what's Pascal? Free Pascal (with or without Lazarus IDE and library) and Delphi (AFAIK the only two with support for Allegro through Allegro.pas) are cross platform, so my answer will be yes, it is.

-----------------
Current projects: Allegro.pas | MinGRo

LennyLen
Member #5,313
December 2004

Pascal is a pretty decent language. Its biggest shortcoming these days though is its relative obscurity (as witnessed in this thread). I was quite happy to learn it when I did (there weren't a lot of options in the 80's), but I can't think of many reasons why I would want to learn it now if I hadn't already. It doesn't offer any advantages over other languages, and there is nowhere near the amount of online resources as what you will find for C/C++/C# or even Python.

Tyler Wrobel
Member #16,594
November 2016