Allegro.cc - Online Community

Allegro.cc Forums » Programming Questions » Image transition too slow !

This thread is locked; no one can reply to it. rss feed Print
Image transition too slow !
AlexBw
Member #16,161
February 2016

I am trying to port Windows screensaver I developed a long time ago in VB6. I am new to Allegro, taught myself the basics and have managed to code a simple transition that slides an image in from left edge of the screen over another image that is already displayed, one vertical pixel line at a time.

The transition takes about 32 seconds to complete, while the good old VB6 version takes less than 1 second ! Could someone please let me know what I am doing wrong or if there are better ways to do this ? This is the simplest of the transitions I have, if I can't get this done fast enough, there is no point using Allegro for me !

Here is the code snippet (Using Allegro 5.1):

#SelectExpand