Allegro.cc - Online Community

Allegro.cc Forums » Allegro Development » Allegro 5.0.6 released!

This thread is locked; no one can reply to it. rss feed Print
 1   2   3 
Allegro 5.0.6 released!
Elias
Member #358
May 2000

Because then an actual leak cannot print that message any longer (since now there is a pool, just a useless one).

--
"Either help out or stop whining" - Evert

Arvidsson
Member #4,603
May 2004

I get that. I don't understand why it's being useless though, but then again I'm a beginner at Cocoa.

Matthew Leverton
Supreme Loser
January 1999

Say you call an Allegro function 100,000 times throughout the course of your game and each time it returns a huge object marked for auto-release. If that global pool is the only one in place, then those objects will sit around until the program exits.

The only difference (from having no pool at all) is you will not get a warning; thus, you are worse off than before.

So the proper fix is to localize the pools to free the memory sooner or to release the objects manually when they are no longer needed.

Arvidsson
Member #4,603
May 2004

But isn't the pool drained every cycle in the event loop? Or should be at least?

Elias
Member #358
May 2000

But isn't the pool drained every cycle in the event loop? Or should be at least?

No, pools are per thread and only the main thread has an event loop. But the main thread has no user pool anyway since appkit already creates (and regularly drains) it for us.

--

AMCerasoli
Member #11,955
May 2010

What the... This thread was death for about 8 days, I revived it to ask what does "TDM" stand for, and you guys still talking about programming like a crazy... This remind those movies when the TV fails and the guy kick it to make it work again...

I'm gonna try again: What does "TDM" stand for?

Thermo Dynamic Multi-Thread?
Temporal Day Month?
Tits Drogs & Music?
This Doesn't Matters?
Today Dance More?

Thanks.

SquizzZ
Member #4,174
December 2003