Allegro.cc - Online Community

Allegro.cc Forums » Installation, Setup & Configuration » Advice on using Allegro 4 or 5?

This thread is locked; no one can reply to it. rss feed Print
 1   2 
Advice on using Allegro 4 or 5?
sec_goat
Member #12,838
May 2011

Hello all,

being a complete novice to allegro, I am wondering if I should be using version 4 or 5? I am having some difficulty with 5, getting it to work on linux, finding examples of how to make certain functions work. However with version 4 I know there are multiple tutorials and examples available.

I feel that I have a pretty good understanding of programming basics, and would like to explore allegro as a tool I use to further my knowledge of programming.

What arguments are there against using the older version versus the newer? I feel like I want to use 5, but I do not want to come in here every day to ask the most basic of questions. Are there some places I can find examples on the allegro functions above and beyond what is in the wiki?

Thanks everyone!

AMCerasoli
Member #11,955
May 2010

Well, you don't need to see only the Wiki, you can check the Allegro. cc forum, using the search engine (I use to get better result with the google engine), the forum is plenty of new topics about Allegro 5,

What you need to think about it, is that Allegro 5 is the future and Allegro 4 is the past... It's going to happen the same as if you were using and old version of any other software, as you surely already read on the wiki "Allegro 4 is no longer actively developed, but we still apply patches sent to us by contributors, mainly to fix minor bugs."

Allegro 5 has a port to the iPhone and a work-in-progress for Android.

Even when there is a lot of tutorials about Allegro 4 these days, in the future is not going to be the same, practically you're going to have to learn Allegro 5 some day.