Allegro.cc - Online Community

Allegro.cc Forums » Off-Topic Ordeals » Your new favorite programmer:

This thread is locked; no one can reply to it. rss feed Print
Your new favorite programmer:
nonnus29
Member #2,606
August 2002

Guys, you have got to stop this NOW! If A.cc gets put on TV for harassing a female we WILL be Slashdotted! A.cc will DIE! STOP THE MADNESS!!!

Quote:

Peter Bol: Hello everyone.

My name is Peter and I am a segment producer for Channel 9 News in Secaucus, NJ. You may know us as "My9". We are doing a human interest story on women making their way in the Web 2.0 world, and Sara will be one of the people we're focusing on. We also have a 14-yr-old from Westfield, NJ who created a super cool Facebook support group for young teen girls with body issues.

Sara mentioned this thread so I joined to see what the discussion was all about. I see that Sara's appearance on this board has caused a stir, so that might make for an interesting angle in the story!

If anyone wants to comment, and is willing to appear on TV, please contact me through private messages.

I'm digging for info on this Peter Bol guy and I'm not finding anything related to channel 9 of Syracuse NY, although the station is legit.....

Jonatan Hedborg
Member #4,886
July 2004

This thread is fun, even for Allegro :D

First I was like "meh, female programmer... big deal" then "why is this thread not dead yet?", so I opened it and saw that Sara decided to join us (or not, depending on the "sign with a.cc or GTFO"-variable)... Interesting turn of events.

I'm not going to go into this discussion (again...), but you should feel free to ignore just about anything bammccaig says on the subject - it's not the general opinion (at least not where I come from). ;)

Anyway, welcome to allegro.cc! I was going to say that you shouldn't expect special treatment because of your boobs gender, but I would be lying... :)