Allegro.cc - Online Community

Allegro.cc Forums » Programming Questions » I'm new

This thread is locked; no one can reply to it. rss feed Print
 1   2 
I'm new
amstradcpc
Member #23,651
January 2023

Hi, I'm Spanish and I don't know almost anything about English, so I'm going to use the google translator.

I am about to finish a modern c++ course and I would like to use allegro to create simple classic games like pong, arkanoid, asteroid, space invader, donkey kong, pacman etc...

I have never created a videogame and with c++ because I am a beginner who wants to start using it with the creation of games but I don't know how to make them, I would like to know if you can help me learn about allegro/c++ and the creation of games.

I'm starting from scratch, I was looking at the vivace tutorial, but apart from showing a graph I haven't known much else what to do and I don't understand anything that is explained either. Greetings and I look forward to your response and to be part of this community and learn everything that i can

amarillion
Member #940
January 2001

¡Hola, bienvenidos! Hablo un poquito de Español, para emergencias, pero probablemente es mas facil usar el traslador de google.

Welcome on your voyage to learning C++ and Allegro. There aren't many tutorials. The best way is probably to set yourself a simple goal and just try things out.

Why not start by picking a classic game that you like? Pacman is a good choice.

Pacman involves a tilemap. A simple way to encode a tilemap is using a long string, using 'X' to represent a wall, '.' to represent a pill, '*' to represent invincibility, 'S' to represent your starting space.

For any programming project, the approach should be to divide the problem into smaller and smaller sub-problems, until the sub-problem is so small that you know how to solve it.

So here are some sub-problems.

• Can you make the game draw a map?

• Can you find the starting position 'S' in your map and place pacman there?