Allegro.cc - Online Community

Allegro.cc Forums » Off-Topic Ordeals » Ukraine... ?

This thread is locked; no one can reply to it. rss feed Print
 1   2   3 
Ukraine... ?
piccolo
Member #3,163
January 2003

give an example of your incorrect assertion

neither true or false inherently
means poorly defined

just take the course

wow
-------------------------------
i am who you are not am i

Chris Katko
Member #1,881
January 2002

Quote:

beep boop beep

-----sig:
“Programs should be written for people to read, and only incidentally for machines to execute.” - Structure and Interpretation of Computer Programs
"Political Correctness is fascism disguised as manners" --George Carlin

LennyLen
Member #5,313
December 2004

piccolo said:

give an example of your incorrect assertion

Here's one:

Assertion 1: A pizza costs $10.
Assertion 2: I only have $8

Conclusion: I cannot afford to buy a pizza

The problem is that I'm not good at counting and actually have $11. My conclusion that I can't afford a pizza is perfectly logical based on the assertions, but assertion 2 is wrong, so I came to the wrong conclusion.

But self-assessment will correct that you say? Well, due to the Dunning-Kruger effect, I think I'm the best counter in the world, so I'm not going to recount the money and find out the mistake.

Quote:

neither true or false inherently
means poorly defined

Yes, but one of the most practical uses of propositional logic is in interpreting the meaning of other people's statements, and other people are going to use ill-defined statements constantly.

Quote:

just take the course

I did a university course in logic (and it was one of the ones I actually attended), so does that count?

Chris Katko
Member #1,881
January 2002