Allegro.cc - Online Community

Allegro.cc Forums » Allegro.cc Comments » Possibility of internship?

This thread is locked; no one can reply to it. rss feed Print
Possibility of internship?
Doctor Cop
Member #16,833
April 2018

I was searching for a roadmap to become a C/C++ developer but couldn't find any.
I am still searching for it and it's been three years since I started programming but still I don't know how much I know and how much am I supposed to know.

can anybody help me in figuring it out, or if you can be so kind and give me the entire roadmap to understand the commonly used tools and technologies in C/C++?

Also I wanted to ask if allegro gives internship, many students have asked me where they can apply for online internships. I told them to go for GSoC but I myself feel a bit discouraged from applying there and they feel the same. It has become so competitive that it's almost daunting to apply there. with this fear they don't even dare to apply.

P.S: Feels good to be back again in the forums!

<edit/>
Please correct me where my English is incorrect or could be better, I want to improve.

bamccaig
Member #7,536
July 2006

I recommend overcoming your fear and applying for GSoC anyway. If you don't take risks you will end up in a stressful job with poor compensation and no job security. Worst case you try GSoC, and you find you were not up to the task. But I doubt that will be the case. You should get mentorship and they'll understand you're inexperienced and help you along the way. It'll be good experience coordinating with a team, you'll meet a few people, and hopefully get your foot in a door too.

Getting a professional job in C++ is probably difficult if you don't already have lots of experience. C++ is a horrible language, and as such the professionals that write and maintain it need to be very experienced. I imagine most job postings for C++ would be asking for many years of professional experience already.