Allegro.cc - Online Community

Allegro.cc Forums » Allegro Development » Creating executable files in Visual Studio

This thread is locked; no one can reply to it. rss feed Print
Creating executable files in Visual Studio
DrMoriarty
Member #15,590
April 2014

Heya Folks,
I'm a math teacher running a game programming class for high school students. We use allegro 5 to make some silly 8-bit style games, and the kids earn math credit for it! We've had tons of success over the past few years, with kids making everything from PONG to pacman to little platformers. However, with this question the fact that I'm a bit of a poser is showing, since my background is in math and education, not CS. I'm sorry my questions are super newbie.

I've been scouring the forums to try to figure out how to package kids' games into an executable file that they can put on a zip file and take home for their parents to play. Most of my efforts have been focused on attempting to make an installer using inno setup, since folks on the forum seem to think it's the easiest option. But I can't seem to get all of the required files added into the installer, or if I am, the directories are getting all mixed up. My biggest problem is that I don't really have the understanding of how Visual Studio (or any IDE) installs Allegro and in which directories- since it's been an option, we've just been pressing the "install Allegro" button in the NuGet packages option that MSVS has. Edgar R posted a list of dependencies in a post on the subject, but I don't even know where to find the files, or how to attach them to an inno setup package in a way that a computer could find them :(

Does anyone have any advice on good tutorials to understand the process better?
Also, if there are other options you'd recommend for newbie programmers like me and my students to create executable of our games with (other IDEs, other methods other than inno setup, etc), feel free to send them my way.

Gratefully,
Jen M