Allegro.cc - Online Community

Allegro.cc Forums » Installation, Setup & Configuration » What's the easiest way to distribute my Allegro 5 game to buddies?

This thread is locked; no one can reply to it. rss feed Print
 1   2 
What's the easiest way to distribute my Allegro 5 game to buddies?
blehmeh98
Member #16,870
June 2018

Not too long ago, I made this asteroids game I developed in my spare time on my 2007 macbook running Lubuntu and now I want to put it on a website I own. I've been trying for the last several days to compile this so that it'll run on other computers with no luck. I can't get a static build working, and I am having trouble sharing the shared libraries. I'm new to C in general and I haven't ever distributed anything like this before, so this is my first project that I actually want other people to be able to play, but I don't know how to compile it for everyone else's computer, only my own. Here's a couple pointers so you know what I mean:

1. I want it to be simple to download and run. I don't want to have to explain to my non tech savvy friends and family how to compile a C program.

2. I want to have a version for Linux, Windows, and Mac. I don't have access to a Windows machine, so I hope to be able to cross compile for Windows from Linux, but I do have access to a Mac.

3. I don't care too much about how this gets done. I would be happy with a statically compiled version that has just the executable and game assets. I would be happy with a version that was compiled with shared libraries but those shared libraries are in a folder distributed with the program. As long as it works on most people's computers, I'm happy.