Allegro.cc - Online Community

Allegro.cc Forums » Programming Questions » text won't render in iOS build

This thread is locked; no one can reply to it. rss feed Print
text won't render in iOS build
shpar0
Member #16,695
June 2017

Hi everyone,

I'm not very experienced and am trying to build a very simple app with some text scrolling around. I've managed to get the thing working quite well in the OSX build, but if I try to compile the same code for iOS, no text is rendered.

the following (just a hello world) compiles and runs (in the xcode iOS simulator) but does not render text, just colors the background:

#include <allegro5/allegro.h>
#include <allegro5/allegro_color.h>
#include <allegro5/allegro_font.h>
#include <allegro5/allegro_ttf.h>
int main(void) {
al_init();
al_init_font_addon();
al_init_ttf_addon();

ALLEGRO_DISPLAY* display = al_create_display(640, 480);
ALLEGRO_FONT* font = al_load_font("/Library/Fonts/Futura.ttc", 40, NULL);

al_clear_to_color(al_color_html("#FF9900"));
al_draw_text(font, al_color_html("#EFEFEF"), 320, 200, ALLEGRO_ALIGN_CENTRE, "LOOK AT THIS!");
al_flip_display();
al_rest(5.0);
al_destroy_font(font);
al_destroy_display(display);

return 0;
}

if I build and run my original program (that's working fine on OSX) in the Xcode simulator it crashes and returns:

objc[11885]: Class PLBuildVersion is implemented in both /Applications/Xcode.app/Contents/Developer/Platforms/iPhoneSimulator.platform/Developer/SDKs/iPhoneSimulator.sdk/System/Library/PrivateFrameworks/PhotoLibraryServices.framework/PhotoLibraryServices (0x120b516f0) and /Applications/Xcode.app/Contents/Developer/Platforms/iPhoneSimulator.platform/Developer/SDKs/iPhoneSimulator.sdk/System/Library/PrivateFrameworks/AssetsLibraryServices.framework/AssetsLibraryServices (0x1206dfcc0). One of the two will be used. Which one is undefined.
testiramo8 was compiled with optimization - stepping may behave oddly; variables may not be available.