Allegro.cc - Online Community

Allegro.cc Forums » Off-Topic Ordeals » Anyone studying a second (or third) language?

This thread is locked; no one can reply to it. rss feed Print
 1   2 
Anyone studying a second (or third) language?
Eric Johnson
Member #14,841
January 2013

最近、僕は日本語をまた勉強し始めることを決めた。日本語はすごく面白い言語だけど、勉強することがたいていちょっと難しくてつまらないよ。ここの誰でもも日本語を勉強してるか?

I recently decided to start studying Japanese again. Japanese is a really interesting language, but studying it is a bit difficult and boring. Anyone else here studying Japanese (or another language for that matter)?

Edgar Reynaldo
Major Reynaldo
May 2007

I studied 3 years of Japanese in high school, but all I remember is hiragana and katakana. My kanji skills are useless.

I've also taken 3 semesters of French, but I need to study up on my vocabulary and grammar before I could really have a decent conversation in French again.

That said, (American) English is my native language.

Eric Johnson
Member #14,841
January 2013

I studied 3 years of Japanese in high school, but all I remember is hiragana and katakana. My kanji skills are useless.

That's cool. Did you study because you were required to do so, or because you wanted to, and could you understand what I wrote? I'm three years into studying Japanese right now, though I took several months off after getting burned out a few times... I studied Spanish for two years in high school, but never had a passion for the language and never really used it, so I recall little of it now.

[EDIT]
And kanji sucks. >:(

Specter Phoenix
Member #1,425
July 2001

I took two years of Spanish in high school and last year looked into learning Japanese, but I've been busy working on fan projects to bother with getting started learning Japanese. I also never used my Spanish so I'm extremely rusty on it.

Edgar Reynaldo
Major Reynaldo
May 2007

I took Japanese because I wanted to. Our high school was the only school in the area to offer it too.