Allegro.cc - Online Community

Allegro.cc Forums » Programming Questions » al_install_system fails inside shared library

Credits go to Edgar Reynaldo and torhu for helping out!
This thread is locked; no one can reply to it. rss feed Print
al_install_system fails inside shared library
Brooklyn
Member #12,433
December 2010

I've been writing a game engine for about six years now using Allegro as a back-end.

Lately I've been upgrading the most recent version to use the various newer versions of C++, Visual Studio, and Allegro 5 seen here.

I've been doing some internal testing by outputting a compiled library and then having simple sample games using said output.

However, for some reason, the call al_install_system(ALLEGRO_VERSION_INT, std::atexit) returns false inside the function a2de_init() (Engine/a2de_base.cpp) when it is called from any of the sample games but not from the testing project for the library.

The documentation says nothing about what could cause the failure and only states: "Don't call it inside a shared library unless you know what you are doing." This is not helpful. Why does it fail? Why shouldn't it be called inside a shared library? What must I know to do this correctly?

torhu
Member #2,727
September 2002

Not sure what the problem might be, but aren't you supposed to use AND instead of OR here?

bool result = system_init_result || image_init_result ||
        primitives_init_result || font_init_result || ttf_init_result ||
        install_audio_result || acodec_init_result ||
        native_dialog_init_result || install_keyboard_result ||
        install_mouse_result || install_joystick_result;

And you shouldn't need to call any of the al_uninstall* functions, Allegro uses atexit to have them called automatically.

APPEND:
There is some info about this here: http://allegro5.org/docs/html/refman/system.html