Allegro.cc - Online Community

Allegro.cc Forums » Programming Questions » [Allegro 5.0.10] Lightning with blenders

This thread is locked; no one can reply to it. rss feed Print
[Allegro 5.0.10] Lightning with blenders
RemmyDZ
Member #15,971
May 2015

Hello everyone,

A while ago I started with Allegro, and thus far, it's one of the greatest libraries I ever worked with, simply amazing!
Currently I'm working on a game where lightning is a very important factor, and so I wanted to create one or more sources of lightning to illuminate the area.
This video perfectly illustrates what I'm looking for exactly:

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=_YVTOaUKO0Q

Now, when it comes to alpha values, transparency, blenders and what not, I am a complete newbie.
I did some research on blenders in Allegro, tried to make some code of my own, but so far without any promising result.
The point is, I don't really know where to start with this.
I hope you guys can help me out!

Thanks in advance!

Greetings,
RemmyDZ :D

RPG Hacker
Member #12,492
January 2011

I think what you want for this effect is something like this:

• In any graphics tool that supports alpha channel, create a black texture and set the alpha values on that texture to resemble your light circle. Alpha = 1.0: No light. Alpha = 0.0: Full lighting. Just create a circle with high alpha values on the border and low alpha values near the center.

• Load the texture you just created as an ALLEGRO_BITMAP into Allegro.

• Create an ALLEGRO_BITMAP the size of your window/viewport.

• At the beginning of your frame, set the target bitmap to the window-sized bitmap you just created.

• Clear this bitmap to color 0.0f/0.0f/0.0f/1.0f (don't forget the alpha channel, it's the most important).

• Enable copy blender.*

• Now draw your light circle bitmap onto this bitmap with the correct position (like your cursor position or whatever you want).

• Set the target bitmap to the regular backbuffer again.