Allegro.cc - Online Community

Allegro.cc Forums » Programming Questions » Drawing to display in class member functions not working

This thread is locked; no one can reply to it. rss feed Print
Drawing to display in class member functions not working
mir0slaw
Member #15,677
July 2014

Hi!
I'm quite new to Allegro 5 and programming in general. I've watched those tutorials:
http://fixbyproximity.com/2d-game-development-course/
http://fixbyproximity.com/oop-game-development/
and they're the main source of my knowledge.

In "Globals.h" which is included by everything, I have
static ALLEGRO_DISPLAY *display=NULL;
The display is initialized later in "main.cpp".
Everything with the display has been working fine, the game's running. The only problem is this:
My class "Player" has a function Player::Render(). It's worked before, but when I try to draw something to display, or use al_get_backbuffer(display); the following happens:
The code compiles, but when I run it I instantaneously get an exception looking like I'm trying to delete something that's already deleted, etc. (at least that's what I read on the internet)
It's similar to this one: Unhandled exception at 0x0F1FE0C4 (allegro-5.0.10-monolith-mt.dll) in TEST.exe: 0xC0000005: Access violation reading location 0x00000008. but the numbers vary.

It's happened in two different places and right now I just moved those troublesome drawing sequences into the main, next to the place where Render() would be called. But it's really annoying and my code will soon get messy if I don't know how to handle this.

Please, help me! :D
Cheers

Elias
Member #358
May 2000

Replace the "static" with "extern". "static" means to make a new copy of the variable for each file it is included from (so for you they are all uninitialized as the one in main.cpp is different from all the others).

--
"Either help out or stop whining" - Evert

Edgar Reynaldo
Major Reynaldo
May 2007

mir0slaw
Member #15,677
July 2014