Allegro.cc - Online Community

Allegro.cc Forums » Programming Questions » new forum noob

This thread is locked; no one can reply to it. rss feed Print
 1   2 
new forum noob
lethal_beast
Member #15,121
May 2013

hello my gamername is lethal_beast i am 15 years old, i love gaming (sometimes programming). the game i play most of the time is cod4
i am fairly new to programming apart from knowing some basics of c++ (still not really good). i started this weekend with installing allegro, reading the wiki and trying to understand the code.
here is a question:

in the following code (copied from wiki) i cant remove the first if statement( if(!al_init()) ) why is that i thought the if (!....) was for checking if something works so you can display the error when it doesn't works.

i can remove the if(!display) though.

#include <stdio.h>
#include <allegro5/allegro.h>

int main(int argc, char **argv){

ALLEGRO_DISPLAY *display = NULL;

if(!al_init()) {
fprintf(stderr, "failed to initialize allegro!\n");
return -1;
}

display = al_create_display(640, 480);
if(!display) {
fprintf(stderr, "failed to create display!\n");
return -1;
}

al_clear_to_color(al_map_rgb(0,0,0));

al_flip_display();

al_rest(10.0);

al_destroy_display(display);

return 0;
}

Thomas Fjellstrom
Member #476
June 2000

al_init() needs to be called to call most allegro functions. If you want to skip the check (but why would you? checking for errors is a good thing!), just remove the `if(! )` and the `{}` block below it.

--
Thomas Fjellstrom - [website] - [email] - [Allegro Wiki] - [Allegro TODO]
"If you can't think of a better solution, don't try to make a better solution." -- weapon_S
"The less evidence we have for what we believe is certain, the more violently we defend beliefs against those who don't agree" -- https://twitter.com/neiltyson/status/592870205409353730

lethal_beast
Member #15,121
May 2013

ty for the help :)