Allegro.cc - Online Community

Allegro.cc Forums » Programming Questions » Multiple views/cameras

This thread is locked; no one can reply to it. rss feed Print
Multiple views/cameras
Endgegner
Member #15,006
March 2013

Hello everybody,

I'm quite new to Allegro and just registered to the forums.

Here I come with my first question: In my 2D platformer game I would like to have multiple cameras (e.g. for split screens). I already got this working, but I'm not sure if my solution is good, so I'm asking for your advice.

I implemented the cameras like this (simplified):

class Camera {
    Vector2 position, origin, scale;
    float rotation;
    ALLEGRO_TRANSFORM transform;
    ALLEGRO_BITMAP *bitmap; // the render target for the camera
};

So basically each camera has its own bitmap where it renders to. All these camera bitmaps are rendered to the display backbuffer in a final step.

Is this a good approach? One minor drawback of this approach is that I have to resize/recreate all camera bitmaps (almost) whenever the display resolution changes. I also have to recreate the bitmaps in order to change the size (width/height) of a camera. Is there any better way of doing this?

Looking forward for your answers.

Thomas Fjellstrom
Member #476
June 2000

You could turn those bitmaps into subbitmaps, and skip the final `al_draw_bitmap`s.

Probably have lower overhead. Not sure you'll notice a change.

--
Thomas Fjellstrom - [website] - [email] - [Allegro Wiki] - [Allegro TODO]
"If you can't think of a better solution, don't try to make a better solution." -- weapon_S
"The less evidence we have for what we believe is certain, the more violently we defend beliefs against those who don't agree" -- https://twitter.com/neiltyson/status/592870205409353730

Kris Asick
Member #1,424
July 2001

Endgegner said: