Allegro.cc - Online Community

Allegro.cc Forums » Programming Questions » Allegro 5 iOS screen orientation.

This thread is locked; no one can reply to it. rss feed Print
Allegro 5 iOS screen orientation.
Tikkunekku
Member #14,982
March 2013

Hi everyone!

I'm new to the forums, altough not new to allegro. I just started using Allegro 5 for iOS and i'm new to iOS programming in general (been a windows programmer always).

Now i have a question regarding the screen orientation:

I set these display options and flags before creating the display, and i've set the orientation to "landscape left" in Xcode.

al_set_new_display_option(ALLEGRO_SUPPORTED_ORIENTATIONS,ALLEGRO_DISPLAY_ORIENTATION_LANDSCAPE, ALLEGRO_REQUIRE);
al_set_new_display_flags(ALLEGRO_FULLSCREEN_WINDOW);

The question is, do i have to use ALLEGRO_TRANSFORM and rotate all of the bitmaps i'm drawing to get them to the right position, or is there another way? ???

| <- the bitmap
[ ] <- iphone

[ |] <- the bitmap goes there
[- ] <- where i want it to go

P.S. What tags can i use here, so i can show the attached pictures?

Thomas Fjellstrom
Member #476
June 2000

Yeah, I believe you want to rotate the screen using a global transform. You should only need to set it up once (and in some of the display events).

--
Thomas Fjellstrom - [website] - [email] - [Allegro Wiki] - [Allegro TODO]
"If you can't think of a better solution, don't try to make a better solution." -- weapon_S
"The less evidence we have for what we believe is certain, the more violently we defend beliefs against those who don't agree" -- https://twitter.com/neiltyson/status/592870205409353730

Tikkunekku
Member #14,982
March 2013

Okay that was fast :P! Have my thanks! :)

Trent Gamblin
Member #261
April 2000

If you've done it right you shouldn't have to use any ALLEGRO_TRANSFORM for screen orientation on iOS. But that may be a 5.1 feature... are you using 5.0 or 5.1?

Tikkunekku
Member #14,982
March 2013