Allegro.cc - Online Community

Allegro.cc Forums » Programming Questions » Collision detection and keyboard input question..

This thread is locked; no one can reply to it. rss feed Print
Collision detection and keyboard input question..
Gnamra
Member #12,503
January 2011

This is my first attempt at collision detection and I'm going to use bounding box / rectangle collision detection, do I need to check with all the objects on the map? If I have 100 different platforms, boxes and other stuff do I need to check with all of them if they collide with the player? This seems really tedious and inefficient..

I also have a problem with the keyboard input / events in my game, when I press left / right arrow key then press the up arrow key to jump while holding left / right it stops moving to the left / right.

What I thought would happen, if this is the event queue: right, right, right, up, right, right, right, etc etc.

What actually happens: Right, right, right, up then it stops.

Sorry if my explaining is a bit confusing. Here's some code.

Player.cpp Move function.

#SelectExpand
1void Player::Move(ALLEGRO_EVENT* events) 2{ 3 4 if(events->type = ALLEGRO_EVENT_KEY_DOWN) 5 { 6 switch(events->keyboard.keycode) 7 { 8 case ALLEGRO_KEY_DOWN: 9 break; 10 case ALLEGRO_KEY_UP: 11 Player::Jump(); 12 break; 13 case ALLEGRO_KEY_RIGHT: 14 if(Player::vel_X <=10)Player::vel_X += 1; 15 break; 16 case ALLEGRO_KEY_LEFT: 17 if(Player::vel_X >=-10)Player::vel_X -= 1; 18 break; 19 }; 20 } 21}

The jumping function only sets the vel_Y to -20 and sets jumping = true

My game loop.

#SelectExpand
1while(!done) 2{ 3 al_clear_to_color(al_map_rgb(0,0,0)); 4 ALLEGRO_EVENT events; 5 if(al_wait_for_event_timed(event_queue, &events, 0.0001)) player.Move(&events); 6 game.update(&player); 7 game.draw(&player); 8 al_rest(0.030); 9}

my Game.update

#SelectExpand