Allegro.cc - Online Community

Allegro.cc Forums » Programming Questions » A5 Scrolling Camera

This thread is locked; no one can reply to it. rss feed Print
A5 Scrolling Camera
X_Eddy_X
Member #13,869
December 2011

Hi all,

I'm new to Allegro and I've been following a few tutorials to get a few basic games up. I've just started developing a new game and I've hit a bit of a road block with "camera" movement.

Basically I have top down (birds eye) game where the player is drawn to the screen using its x and y co ords. My backgrounds and objects are also drawn at their own x and y co ords.

What I want to do is have a view around the player, and as the player moves the camera moves with it. I dont really what the backgrounds or objects to move from they're positions if that makes sense.

I've been looking around the web and the forums and cant really find any straight forward resources for my objective.

If anyone has any input or could point me in the right direction, it would be much appreciated :)

Cheers.

Mark Oates
Member #1,146
March 2001

Which version of allegro are you using?

In general, you'll want to create a camera type object and make it follow the coordinates of the player.

camera.x = player.x;
camera.y = player.y;

If you want to center the player on the screen, you might do something like:

camera.x = player.x - SCREEN_W/2;
camera.y = player.y - SCREEN_H/2;

Next, you'll want to displace every object that's in the "world" by the camera's coordinates. It might look something like:

my_sprite_drawing_function(sprite.x + camera.x, sprite.y + camera.y, sprite.image);

--
Visit CLUBCATT.com for cat shirts, cat mugs, puzzles, art and more <-- coupon code ALLEGRO4LIFE at checkout and get $3 off any order of 3 or more items!

AllegroFlareAllegroFlare DocsAllegroFlare GitHub

X_Eddy_X
Member #13,869
December 2011

Thanks for the reply :)

I'm using Allegro 5.0.4 (planning on downloading the new release soon).