Allegro.cc - Online Community

Allegro.cc Forums » Programming Questions » Speed issues with Allegro 5.0.4

Credits go to kenmasters1976 for helping out!
This thread is locked; no one can reply to it. rss feed Print
Speed issues with Allegro 5.0.4
Hepolite
Member #13,716
November 2011

I am having some issues with Allegro that I simply can't figure out how to solve myself, after spending some time searching for an answer I still haven't found anything that I could use.

I am new to Allegro, so there's much I don't know yet, so please don't hate me for this question. :)
I have, however, spent some time with C++ so I know how to do some things, but I'm far, far from an expert.

I'm trying to make a program that I will eventually expand to a game, but for now I'm working on a level editor, and I've managed to set up a decent interface and the GUI is working as I want it to. Everything works just as I expected - just tens if not hundreds of times slower... I have noticed that my simple GUI renders at about 20-30 FPS, which is just ridiculously slow. However, as soon as I take out the drawing part from my main loop, the program runs much faster, I'd estimate much more than 1000 FPS. Just a very rough guess as the program seems to run 960 frames in less than a second.

I have no idea what I can do to fix this...
I'm using Microsoft Visual C++ 2010 and Allegro 5.0.4, and this is some parts of the code I use to draw everything:

Setting up Allegro:

#SelectExpand