Allegro.cc - Online Community

Allegro.cc Forums » Programming Questions » GWEN UI Allegro5 port

This thread is locked; no one can reply to it. rss feed Print
 1   2   3 
GWEN UI Allegro5 port
billyquith
Member #13,534
September 2011

I have ported the GWEN UI to Allegro 5 :). I'm not an expert at unicode so I had a little trouble with the font rendering. It seems to work, but I'm not sure if it is correct. ??? Not quite sure how to convert std::wstring to ALLEGRO_USTR.

Code is here. The is an input header and the other two are the renderer.

http://code.google.com/p/gwen/issues/detail?id=56

GWEN is a very nice UI and it would be nice if it fully worked with Allegro 5:

http://code.google.com/p/gwen/

Perhaps if you know how to fix it you could post the files to the GWEN link above.

Cheers. :)

Trent Gamblin
Member #261
April 2000

That looks good. Nice job. Not sure about std::wstring but Allegro uses utf8 so AFAIK you can use std::string.

Elias
Member #358
May 2000

Not quite sure how to convert std::wstring to ALLEGRO_USTR.

Should be simple, something like (untested):

ALLEGRO_USTR *wstring_to_ustr(std::wstring w) {
    ALLEGRO_USTR *u = al_ustr_new("");
    for (int i = 0; i < w.size(); i++) {
        wchar_t wc = w[i];
        al_ustr_append_chr(u, wc);
    }
    return u;
}

Then make sure to free the string later with al_ustr_free.

If looping through all characters is too slow, you could also simply assume that wstring.cstr() is UTF16 under Windows:

ALLEGRO_USTR *wstring_to_ustr(std::wstring w) {
#ifdef ALLEGRO_WINDOWS
    return al_ustr_new_from_utf16(w.c_str());
#else
    return al_ustr_new(w.c_str());
#endif
}

However that's probably a bit hackish as it depends on the exact windows version / exact OS version.

Quote:

Allegro has not right alt?

It's called ALTGR because that's what it's called in England. We probably should add a #define.

--
"Either help out or stop whining" - Evert

weapon_S
Member #7,859
October 2006

billyquith
Member #13,534