Allegro.cc - Online Community

Allegro.cc Forums » Programming Questions » Allegro 5 threads

This thread is locked; no one can reply to it. rss feed Print
Allegro 5 threads
julian smit
Member #13,064
July 2011

Hey,

I'm pretty new to using threads in allegro 5.0, and now i wanted to use them in my little 2d Pokemon game. I've looked for some toturials and the only usefull toturial i was able to find was: http://wiki.allegro.cc/index.php?title=Allegro_5_Tutorial/Threads

Now i had a few question about this:

1) How to properly use them? I mean is it possible to draw Bitmaps inside the Thread? I tried to do this but i failed. I was able to create a new working thread, and tried to use it for loading the graphics but it was terrible slow.

2) Are there more usefull toturials i could look at for multithreading in allegro 5?

J-Gamer
Member #12,491
January 2011

1) only the thread that makes the display can load/draw video bitmaps. All other threads use software bitmaps, and those are slooowwwww...

2) You could search the forum for multithreading here on the forum. I have learned a lot from those threads. Otherwise, just try and understand the example programs.(play with their code a bit and you might get to understand threads better)
You might also want to look at some online tutorials about multithreading to get to know what threads are generally used for, what the popular design patterns are,...

" There are plenty of wonderful ideas in The Bible, but God isn't one of them." - Derezo
"If your body was a business, thought would be like micro-management and emotions would be like macro-management. If you primarily live your life with emotions, then you are prone to error on the details. If you over-think things all the time you tend to lose scope of priorities." - Mark Oates

julian smit
Member #13,064
July 2011

Ah okay thanks for the help, i also thought it had something todo with the display, and i guess i could look at the way other languanes use the threads.