Allegro.cc - Online Community

Allegro.cc Forums » Programming Questions » Newbie Allegro programming

This thread is locked; no one can reply to it. rss feed Print
Newbie Allegro programming
dsds dsds
Member #13,430
August 2011

hi everyone! i'm sorry for my bad english but i'm not a master in this language xD
however i hope you understand me.
i'm a newbie in Allegro programming.
i know C ,in detail i know how loops,pointers,arrays and matrices work.
i studied also stack,hash-table,tree and list.
I don't know C++ yet.I saw many games done with allegro and C/C++ and i decided to use this lib.
I would create a platform game but i don't find any type of tutorial about it.I see many sourcecode of platform done with allegro on youtube and i observe that to create the map of the game are used classes...is it possible to create a map (in C) without classes? maybe only with the coordinates of the ostacles?
I also try to study a sourcecode of a platform game but is too difficult for me...and also it was written in C++ that i don't understand.
can you advise me some platform-tutorial? or a good book?

thx all! ;)

Audric
Member #907
January 2001

See the allegro demo game (the small shoot-them-up). It should already give you a good example of a game loop, and it will show you which allegro4 functions a game usually uses.

dsds dsds said:

is it possible to create a map (in C) without classes

Of course. Instead of a 2D array of classes, you'll use a 2D array of struct, etc.

About platform games examples/tutorials, I don't have specific example in mind. I checked on the depot, here's list of platform games with source code available:
http://www.allegro.cc/depot/action,platform/listing/?o=Title&players=&online=&source=Yes&os=

Of these, I checked Alex4 as the game and its author are pretty famous, and the source code seems rather pretty :
http://www.allegro.cc/depot/AlextheAllegator4

type568
Member #8,381
March 2007