Allegro.cc - Online Community

Allegro.cc Forums » Programming Questions » Timer's tick diferent in diferent computers?

This thread is locked; no one can reply to it. rss feed Print
Timer's tick diferent in diferent computers?
Jarutais
Member #13,026
July 2011

Hello guys, i am new to programming and to allegro, so my question may sound idiot, but i'd be really happy if anyone could help me.

I made a game that runs perfectly on my computer, then i attempted to run it on another computer and everything that depends on timers ran a lot faster.

Then i tried on another computer, and it ran a lot slower.

So... Is there any way to make the timer's ticks the same on any computer?

Thanks!

Matthew Leverton
Supreme Loser
January 1999

Timers run at the same speed on every computer. You must be doing something wrong, so show us some code.

Jarutais
Member #13,026
July 2011

The code is far too extense to paste here, but for example, when i want to simulate that the character is walking,

Basically i'm doing this (omiting some declarations)

#SelectExpand
1ALLEGRO_EVENT_QUEUE *event_queue; 2ALLEGRO_EVENT event; 3ALLEGRO_TIMER *timer, 4ALLEGRO_BITMAP *sprite, sprites[5]; 5 6int counter = 0; 7 8event_queue = al_create_event_queue(); 9timer = al_create_timer(0.02); 10 11al_register_event_source(event_queue, al_get_timer_event_source(timer)); 12 13 14while(true) 15{ 16 nextSprite = false; 17 18 doSomeCalculations(); 19 if(al_key_down(&key_state, ALLEGRO_KEY_RIGHT) 20 { 21 nextSprite = true; 22 al_start_timer(timer); 23 } 24 25 doSomeMoreThings(); 26 27 if(al_peek_next_event(event_queue, &event) && nextSprite == true) 28 { 29 counter ++; 30 sprite = sprites[counter]; 31 32 if(counter == 4) counter = 0; 33 } 34 35 if(nextSprite == false) 36 counter = 0; 37 38 al_draw_bitmap(sprite, x, y, 0); 39 al_flip_display(); 40}