Allegro.cc - Online Community

Allegro.cc Forums » Programming Questions » Allegro 5 - al_load_bitmap() not working!

This thread is locked; no one can reply to it. rss feed Print
Allegro 5 - al_load_bitmap() not working!
Callum Gregg
Member #12,995
July 2011

Hi guys,

I have spent the past 5 hours fiddling around searching the web and the wiki to try and solve this problem I am having with al_load_bitmap.

I have moderate experience with C++ but this is my first time using the allegro library so I dont know a great deal about this but regardless of what I do I cannot get al_load_bitmap() to work.

At the moment I'm just trying to place bitmaps on the screen and regardless how basic I make the code I can't get it to work, can anyone spot something i'm doing wrong perhaps?

Even this basic code won't work:

#SelectExpand
1#include <stdio.h> 2#include <allegro5/allegro.h> 3#include <allegro5/allegro_image.h> 4 5int main(int argc, char **argv) 6{ 7 al_init(); 8 9 al_init_image_addon(); 10 11 ALLEGRO_BITMAP *bmp = al_load_bitmap("LowerFull.bmp"); 12 if(!bmp) 13 fprintf(stderr,"failed to load bitmap.\n"); 14 15 while(true){ 16 ... 17 } 18}

Any help would be greatly appreciated, Thanks! :)

Edit: I have also tried using an absolute path and that does not work either.

Matthew Leverton
Supreme Loser
January 1999

What part doesn't work?

Callum Gregg
Member #12,995
July 2011

I always receive NULL for my bmp variable.

Edit:

Aha! I have finally got it to work!
I saw another post by you discussing a similar topic where you suggested the following code:

#SelectExpand
1ALLEGRO_PATH *path = al_get_standard_path(ALLEGRO_RESOURCES_PATH); 2al_set_path_filename(path, "LowerFull.bmp"); 3 4bmp = al_load_bitmap(al_path_cstr(path, '/'));

I'm assuming then the error was simply in pointing to the file? Yet this seems odd as an absolute address didn't work either!

North~
Member #12,192
August 2010