Allegro.cc - Online Community

Allegro.cc Forums » The Depot » KLAXXZ GAME MAKER (KGM) 1.0 released

This thread is locked; no one can reply to it. rss feed Print
 1   2 
KLAXXZ GAME MAKER (KGM) 1.0 released
Vanneto
Member #8,643
May 2007

You should take a look at piccolos project "The Game". It basically incorporates features of all game types and can be modified to be any game you like. Its the ultimate "Game Framework".

He even uses The Game as software for his space ship. :o

In capitalist America bank robs you.

james_lohr
Member #1,947
February 2002

You have created a grotesque monstrosity, but good effort!

Klaxxz said:

That's because I was self taught.. and really just tried to make things work

Unless we're talking about snippets of code or basic tutorials, you really shouldn't be thinking about writing reusable/educational code until you've coded collaboratively. By this I mean that you've either studied programming at degree level, trained and worked as a professional software developer, or contributed to peer-reviewed open-source projects.

On the bright side (and I don't mean this in a nasty way), your website is so glaringly ugly that one would need to be very naive to take it seriously. So naive, in fact, that one might even stand to gain something by looking into it in more detail.

There is a certain retro charm to something so unprofessionally designed yet painstakingly and lovingly made. So I take my hat off to you. However, I will say this: you need to move on. You need to embrace convention before you can begin to think about being "different". You've clearly got a lot of enthusiasm and energy, however it pains me to see so much effort put into something that is a dead-end. I don't think you're going to learn an awful lot more until you work on something different, so I urge you to drop it and ideally ditch Allegro altogether and use something new.

Oh, and implementation details are not features. :P

Evert
Member #794
November 2000