Allegro.cc - Online Community

Allegro.cc Forums » Programming Questions » Loading a SVG File?

This thread is locked; no one can reply to it. rss feed Print
Loading a SVG File?
Murlocks
Member #12,593
February 2011

Hello, I'm a complete newbie with game programming and the allegro library so please be merciful. Anyways I have been trying to use al_load_bitmap to load my file. Solutions I have tried include initializing the image addon through al_init_image_addon() and specifying the directory(which I am not completely sure that I did correctly). Please advise!

Tobias Dammers
Member #2,604
August 2002

SVG is not a bitmap format, and allegro doesn't support it out-of-the box.

If you want to use SVG, you'll need to use an SVG rendering library (you could write your own, but SVG is pretty complex, so it's probably way over your head), and write some glue to make it render to allegro surfaces.

An easier route is to just open the SVG in the editor of your choice (e.g. Inkscape) and export it to a bitmap format that allegro understands. If you're using A5, I'd recommend PNG - it offers lossless compression, and it supports full truecolor with alpha transparency.

---
Me make music: Triofobie
---
"We need Tobias and his awesome trombone, too." - Johan Halmén

Matthew Leverton
Supreme Loser
January 1999

the manual said:

The following types are built into the Allegro image addon and guaranteed to be available: BMP, PCX, TGA. Every platform also supports JPEG and PNG via external dependencies.

SVG isn't on the list, and is not likely to be supported by the OS.

Murlocks
Member #12,593
February 2011

thanks, that clears up alot! I have converted my SVG to a PNG, how do I know which directory allegro looks in for the png?

Edgar Reynaldo
Major Reynaldo
May 2007