Allegro.cc - Online Community

Allegro.cc Forums » Game Design & Concepts » Iso 2D engine using CG Shaders [video]

This thread is locked; no one can reply to it. rss feed Print
 1   2   3 
Iso 2D engine using CG Shaders [video]
Dario ff
Member #10,065
August 2008

So I've been playing around with this pretty much all day, just placing and rendering random objects. So much fun that I felt like recording a video to show this!

[The video is inside the spoiler since the new thumbnail size is messing with the forum, but once you click it, it'll play fine!]

video

I saw a guy long time ago doing something like this(and quite better in some ways) using XNA, but since he kind of disappeared and never heard from him of releasing the engine, I just started playing with the idea.

Til now, it features the dynamic lighting showed off, and shadows casted by the directional light. They're not really accurate, but I think they look great. Trying to figure out how to do shadows casted by the dynamic lights as well.

And this must've been the simplest thing I ever wrote! Just two fragment shaders, some math and some bitmaps. It's built on Allegro 5 + the CG shaders. ;)

I'm looking for feedback on how could I improve the looks even more. Maybe ambient occlusion? Bloom? :) I was thinking of trying out water next.

TranslatorHack 2010, a human translation chain in a.cc.
My games: [GiftCraft] - [Blocky Rhythm[SH2011]] - [Elven Revolution] - [Dune Smasher!]

GullRaDriel
Member #3,861
September 2003

You should add collision instead of occlusion.

It's a nice thing thought.

"Code is like shit - it only smells if it is not yours"
Allegro Wiki, full of examples and articles !!

Mark Oates
Member #1,146
March 2001

That's pretty cool.

Dario ff said:

I'm looking for feedback on how could I improve the looks even more.

For the fun of it, how about a depth of field blur since you have the depth map.

What does it look like with the shaders turned off? 8-)

--