Allegro.cc - Online Community

Allegro.cc Forums » Programming Questions » allegro.h desperation: multiple definitions

This thread is locked; no one can reply to it. rss feed Print
allegro.h desperation: multiple definitions
Paul Wilhelm
Member #10,731
February 2009

Good evening Allegro community!

To introduce myself first: my Name is Paul (19 at this time) and I'm from Germany.
I've been programming in QB and Assembler since 2001, learned some PHP later (see: http://mosfetkiller.de/) and finally learned C like 2 years ago.
Thanks to Allegro, I rediscovered the joy of game programming again. :-)

Nevertheless, I am definately not a C expert yet.
I wrote a basic RPG engine several days ago, which worked so far.
But it was just one huge "main.c" file, so I decided to split it in parts like "video.c", "logic.c" and so on.

Unfortunately I have some serious problems with my header files.

Since every module ("main.c", "video.c", "logic.c", ...) accesses functions of the Allegro library, I have to include "allegro.h" in every single header file of all the modules.

But when I compile, I get a huge amount of "multiple definition" errors.
What am I doing wrong?

What is the right way of using header files?

Believe me, for the last two days I tried everything possible to get the whole thing to work, but I just couldn't make it. :-/

I really hope, someone here can help me. Thanks!

Greetings from Germany,
Paul

OnlineCop
Member #7,919
October 2006

If you're reusing global variables in more than a single .C file, your compiler will complain.

If you have a global that you will use in multiple places, pick one of the files to be its "official declaration" file. Everywhere else, define those variables as "extern".

main.c:

int MAP_WIDTH;
  int MAP_HEIGHT;

video.c:

extern int MAP_WIDTH;
  extern int MAP_HEIGHT;

logic.c:

// same as in video.c:
  extern int MAP_WIDTH;
  extern int MAP_HEIGHT;

That sounds like one of your bigger problems.