Allegro.cc - Online Community

Allegro.cc Forums » Programming Questions » Im a beginner needing help! xD

This thread is locked; no one can reply to it. rss feed Print
Im a beginner needing help! xD
Thiago Lazier
Member #10,219
September 2008

well... i'm starting with allegro now and i'm having a lot of troubles...
I'm trying to do an RPG game... and it have to be done til october, 2th (as my teacher said xD)...
My question is....
when i put two bitmaps in the screen, like one for the game itself, and another for the atributes and stuff, the screen keeps blinking and then it says
"your program executed an ilegal operation and... u guys know...

So... i'm needing help... =X
i'll send an annex with a "simplified" code, in wich the same problem happens:

while (!key[KEY_ESC]) {

BITMAP *a = load_bitmap("E:\\Documents and Settings\\Servidor\\Meus documentos\\1.bmp", NULL);
BITMAP *b = load_bitmap("E:\\Documents and Settings\\Servidor\\Meus documentos\\2.bmp", NULL);
draw_sprite (screen, a, 0, 0);
draw_sprite (screen, b, 0, 0);

}

Sorry for mistakes in the writing, im from brazil and still have a lot to learn in english
xD

Sol Blast
Member #9,655
April 2008

Check the returns. Once you've called load_bitmap, test to see if it worked like so...

BITMAP *a = load_bitmap("E:\\Documents and Settings\\Servidor\\Meus documentos\\1.bmp", NULL);
   BITMAP *b = load_bitmap("E:\\Documents and Settings\\Servidor\\Meus documentos\\2.bmp", NULL);

if (!a)
   {
      allegro_message("Could not load bitmap a!";
      allegro_exit();
   }

if (!b)
   {
      allegro_message("Could not load bitmap b!";
      allegro_exit();
   }

If you get either of those message popping up then you've probably set the wrong path for the bitmap or allegro doesn't like them for some reason.
If not then... i don't know :P.
Hope it helps :).

bamccaig
Member #7,536
July 2006