Allegro.cc - Online Community

Allegro.cc Forums » Programming Questions » glLoadIdentity vs glPushMatrix/glPopMatrix

This thread is locked; no one can reply to it. rss feed Print
glLoadIdentity vs glPushMatrix/glPopMatrix
Frank Drebin
Member #2,987
December 2002

ok so i'm pretty new to opengl...
if i want to rotate two objects with different angles i have to call either glLoadIdentity after the first rotation or i have to call glPopMatrix, rotate and glPushMatrix for each object...
so wich one to use?

amber
Member #6,783
January 2006

Push and pop.

That way, if you decide you want the whole rotation to be part of a more complicated system that's also moving around and rotating, you don't have to redo everything. :)

Frank Drebin
Member #2,987
December 2002

ok but both have basically the same effect - or is there anything i should take care of?

Thomas Harte
Member #33
April 2000

They don't have the same effect.

glLoadIdentity replaces the current matrix with the identity matrix.

glPushMatrix pushes the current matrix onto a stack. You can then pull the top matrix off the stack and make it the current one later using glPopMatrix.

Those are only the same if:

• your camera is always fixed at (0, 0, 0) looking along z

• all of your models are single, rigid shapes

• you loaded your matrix stack with the identity in the first place

Or if you're doing lots of unnecessary arithmetic yourself on the CPU, making your code more complicated and your application less speedy.

SiegeLord
Member #7,827
October 2006

Quote:

glPushMatrix pushes the current matrix onto a stack.

To make that more clear, the current matrix is not affected by this at all. glPushMatrix simply makes a copy that you can retrieve later on with glPopMatrix. You still will have your old transformation matrix as your current matrix that still has to be cleared to an identity matrix. Thus, you need to call glLoadIdentity regardless (at least once, as Thomas Harte's third bullet suggests).