Allegro.cc - Online Community

Allegro.cc Forums » Off-Topic Ordeals » the D programming language

This thread is locked; no one can reply to it. rss feed Print
the D programming language
Matthew Leverton
Supreme Loser
January 1999

Quote:

But seriously, is there anything in D that you cannot do in C++?

It depends on your perspective.

Some people say you can do anything in Assembler that you can do in C. Others say you can do anything in C that you can do in C++. And long those lines, you could say that C++ can do anything that you can do in D.

So I think the question should really be, "what things are D better at?" And so far, my answer would be "everything." I'm not an expert C++ user, so I'm not extremely qualified to answer, but here are a few things that D makes easy. (Sorry for the silly examples.)

Dynamic arrays:

int[] array;
array ~= 42; // array[0] = 42

Associative arrays:

int[char[]] map;
map["foo"] = 1;

Foreach:

foreach(val; array)
{
  writefln("%s", val);
}

Delegates:

int foo(bool delegate(int) func)
{
  if(func(42))
  {
    writefln("Hello, World!");
  }
}

foo((i) { return i < 100 ? true : false;  });

Templates:

void my_template(U) (U bar)
{
 static if (U.typeof == int) { /* or something like that */
    // code specific to an integer type
 } 

// generic code
}

my_template("Hello"); // works with strings
my_template(42);

And it has memory management, no need for pointers (unless you are using a C library), no need (or support) for #include files or the preprocessor, etc.

I think it's safe to say that most of the stuff can be implemented in C++ with more verbose syntax or the use of ugly macros. It's not meant to be radically different. To me, the biggest advantage over C++ is that everything feels so much more clean and natural.

It's well documented. Read up on it yourself.

Simon Parzer
Member #3,330
March 2003

Quote: