Allegro.cc - Online Community

Allegro.cc Forums » Programming Questions » Performance issues (Windows)

This thread is locked; no one can reply to it. rss feed Print
Performance issues (Windows)
.greay
Member #8,462
March 2007

I'm just starting out w/Allegro, and have a very basic prototype for a shooter. It runs acceptably on my computer (for an I'm-still-learning-as-I-go prototype), but runs terribly on Windows (I use OS X). The difference is striking -- on my Mac, it starts to slow down with ~50 objects on screen. Not great, but not too bad for a first shot. But it starts to slow down ~13 objects in Windows, even on a computer with much better specs than my own.

I don't have any experience programming for Windows, so I'm not even sure where to begin looking for the problem. I don't do anything Mac-specific anywhere in the code.

gprof says it's spending a huge amount of time in gfx_directx_unlock_win.

Anyways, the source and Windows executable are here.

HoHo
Member #4,534
April 2004

Are you drawing onto a video bitmap? If yes then describe the operations you do with it (what kind of bitmaps, blending, transparency, per-pixel effects, ...)

Paul whoknows
Member #5,081
September 2004

It runs slow in my P4 2400MHz! but this problem is not Allegro related.
Post the code you use to blit your buffer bitmap to screen.

____

"The unlimited potential has been replaced by the concrete reality of what I programmed today." - Jordan Mechner.

HoHo
Member #4,534
April 2004

I read your code a bit and found this thing:

while (!game_end_flag) {

LOCK_VARIABLE(t);
    LOCK_FUNCTION(inc_timer);
    install_int_ex(inc_timer, BPS_TO_TIMER(120));    

LOCK_VARIABLE(e);
    LOCK_FUNCTION(inc_enemy);
    install_int_ex(inc_enemy, BPS_TO_TIMER(120));    

input_update();
// lots more stuff here that isn't interesting ATM