Allegro.cc - Online Community

Allegro.cc Forums » Programming Questions » create_bitmap and classes

This thread is locked; no one can reply to it. rss feed Print
create_bitmap and classes
Justin Hamilton
Member #8,269
January 2007

Hello,

I am new to the Allegro library. I recently began putting together my first Tetris clone, and I set up a class for the shapes. One of the (currently public) data members of the class is BITMAP *images[4][2], which holds all possible rotations and a corresponding "eraser" image. I designed a public member function to set up bitmaps for the rotations of the shape. This is so that custom images can be put into the game. When I try to "create" bitmaps for the other elements of the images array to place a roated sprite in, the program crashes.

I do not understand a great deal about memory allocation and other related subjects, but I assume that there this is due to something with the compiler not being happy about a class trying to mess around with memory after the variables were already initialized. Of course, I could be completely wrong here.

Here are sections of the problematic code (again, I am somewhat new to this, so this may be very ugly):

1class shape:{
2public:
3 BITMAP *images[4][2];
4 //...other variables and method...
6 int setup(char *image, char *eraser, int rotations);
7};
9int shape::setup(char *image, char *eraser, int rotations)
10{
11 //load the initial images
12 images[0][0] = load_bitmap(image, NULL);
13 images[0][1] = load_bitmap(eraser, NULL);
15 //error checking
16 if (!images[0][0]){
17 allegro_message("Error loading shape.");
18 return 1;
19 }
20 if (!images[0][1]){
21 allegro_message("Error loading eraser.");
22 return 1;
23 }
25 //setup all of the rotated images
26 for (int i = 1; i < rotations; i++){
27 if (i % 2 == 0){
28 images<i>[0] = create_bitmap(images[0][0]->w, images[0][0]->h);
29 images<i>[1] = create_bitmap(images[0][1]->w, images[0][1]->h);
30 }
31 else{