Allegro.cc - Online Community

Allegro.cc Forums » Programming Questions » Control multiple versions of the same sound

This thread is locked; no one can reply to it. rss feed Print
Control multiple versions of the same sound
DavyKager
Member #8,299
February 2007

Hi!

I am building an audiogame based on Allegro, but I encounter some problems during the process. As I've said before, I'm an absolute beginner, so excuse me for asking this stupid things. :)

I'd like to have multiple versions of the same sound playing, which I can control seperately. The last is possible with Voice Control, but I need to specify a voice so I can adjust it.
Now I'm trying to make a function like this:
place_objet(x_position, y_position, ID);
The ID will name the voice where the sound is playing, but these are automatically asigned. Thus I can't do things like:
asigned. Thus I can't do things like:
place_objet(20, 30, 1); // Object #1
place_objet(50, 90, 2); // Object #2

So, I have to obtain the voice where the sound is playing with allocate_voice, but at the same time I already need this voicenumber, because it should be my ID.

I know this is not very common, but does someone get my point and maybe can provide some help?

Tobias Dammers
Member #2,604
August 2002

First allocate, then adjust. Store the ID in a member var of your object.
The hard part is not this, but dealing with "too many" objects (that is, when you can't allocate enough voices for all your objects).

---
Me make music: Triofobie
---
"We need Tobias and his awesome trombone, too." - Johan Halmén

DavyKager
Member #8,299
February 2007

I just don't know how to do this in another way.

My problem is that I want to make multiple objects at the same time. And if Allegro gives me a voicenumber, and I store that, and then build up a new object (from the same function) it'll override the original one, isn't it?

Tobias Dammers
Member #2,604
August 2002

No.