Allegro.cc Forums » Programming Questions » Callback Problem

This thread is locked; no one can reply to it. rss feed Print
 1   2 
Callback Problem
dialmformartian
Member #8,132
December 2006

Im new to callbacks, I am trying to make an input buffer with a callback
so that i wont miss out inputs while doing lazy processing..

this is what i came up with

1typedef struct _message
2{
3 char type;
4 int val;
5 int ex1, ex2, ex3;
6} message;
7typedef struct _input
8{
9 message queue[255];
10 unsigned int lock, start, end;
11} input;
13volatile input buf;
15void mouse_call(int f) {
16 unsigned int i, ex1 = 0, ex2 = 0, ex3 = 0;
18 if(f & MOUSE_FLAG_MOVE) {
19 ex1 = mouse_x;
20 ex2= mouse_y;
21 }
22 if(f & MOUSE_FLAG_MOVE_Z)
23 ex3 = mouse_z;
25 if(((buf.end+1) & 255) == (buf.start&255)) //What! buffer is full?
26 return;
27 i = buf.end&255;
28 buf.lock++; //Lock
29 if(buf.lock != 1) { //Damn! its locked
30 buf.lock--;
31 return;
32 }
34 buf.end++; //Quickly copy stuff
35 buf.queue<i>.type = 0;
36 buf.queue<i>.val = f;
37 buf.queue<i>.ex1 = ex1;
38 buf.queue<i>.ex2 = ex2;
39 buf.queue<i>.ex3 = ex3;
41 buf.lock--;
42}
43END_OF_FUNCTION(mouse_call)

Then in main:

1 LOCK_VARIABLE(buf);
2 LOCK_FUNCTION(mouse_call);
3 LOCK_FUNCTION(key_call);
4 mouse_callback = mouse_call;
5 keyboard_lowlevel_callback = key_call;
6 buf.end = buf.start = buf.lock = 0;
7 install_mouse();
8 install_keyboard();
9 set_keyboard_rate(0, 0);
11 unsigned int k;
12 while(1) {
13 if((buf.start&255) == (buf.end&255)) {
14 //rest(1);
15 continue;
16 }
17 k = buf.start&255;
18 textprintf_ex(screen, font, 0, 0, 3,0, "type = %i val = %i ex1 = %i ex2 = %i ex3 = %i ", buf.queue[k].type, buf.queue[k].val, buf.queue[k].ex1, buf.queue[k].ex2, buf.queue[k].ex3);
19 textprintf_ex(screen, font, 0,10, 3,0, "start = %i end = %i ", (buf.start&255), (buf.end&255));
20 if(buf.queue[k].val == 59 && buf.queue[k].type == 1) {
21 break;
22 }
23 buf.start++;
24 }

but after buf.end reaches 255 the program gets stuck.