Allegro.cc - Online Community

Allegro.cc Forums » Programming Questions » I'm new at this!

This thread is locked; no one can reply to it. rss feed Print
 1   2 
I'm new at this!
Steve Terry
Member #1,989
March 2002

The idea is to write functions to break up the work for you. You should have an initialization function, a draw function, and a function to get which card was clicked. Breaking it up this way makes it simpler for your main game loop. If you've done C for a year then you should know that. As far as Allegro goes please read up on many of its functions and look at all of the examples. Once you understand them then you can work on a game. You have the stuff on the screen already but you need to understand come simple concepts, for example you need a main game loop, once you initialize your cards then you go into a continual loop until the user exits the game (usually hitting the ESC key). You also need to understand double buffering (creating a separate off screen drawing space for drawing) which will allow you to do animations. Don't jump in so fast, make some simple double buffering apps, tie one of your bitmaps to the mouse movement for example. Move up from there.

@ Simon... dear god don't teach him to write a bunch of if statements like that, that's horrible coding techniques.

Matthew Dalrymple
Member #7,922
October 2006

For one thing you are going to want randomize where the cards are. The way you have it with drawing the cards, its going to be the exact same game every time. It will be a true memory game. The player plays the game once and memorizes where all the cards were at and can beat it every time with no mistakes.

As for flipping to cards...
Here is some pseudo code:

if num_cards_clicked equals 2
:if the two cards match
::set flag "matched" to true for both cards
:num_cards_clicked set equal to 0
:end if
end if