Allegro.cc - Online Community

Allegro.cc Forums » Programming Questions » int to string (char) conversion in C

Credits go to LennyLen for helping out!
This thread is locked; no one can reply to it. rss feed Print
int to string (char) conversion in C
Bob Keane
Member #7,342
June 2006

Hello all. I am new to C programming and was wondering if it is possible to convert an integer value to char or string. I checked a book, but only found documentation to convert from string to integer. Thanks in advance.

By reading this sig, I, the reader, agree to render my soul to Bob Keane. I, the reader, understand this is a legally binding contract and freely render my soul.
"Love thy neighbor as much as you love yourself means be nice to the people next door. Everyone else can go to hell. Missy Cooper.
The advantage to learning something on your own is that there is no one there to tell you something can't be done.

X-G
Member #856
December 2000

A char is an integer type already.
sprintf

--
Since 2008-Jun-18, democracy in Sweden is dead. | 悪霊退散!悪霊退散!怨霊、物の怪、困った時は ドーマン!セーマン!ドーマン!セーマン! 直ぐに呼びましょう陰陽師レッツゴー!

ReyBrujo
January 2001

int to char is done by simply casting:

int i = 10;
char c;
c = i;

Remember that chars can hold 256 numbers only. As for string, just use sprintf, like sprintf(buffer, "%d", i);, where buffer is a char array and i an integer. Remember to make the buffer as large as necessary.

--
RB
光子「あたしただ…奪う側に回ろうと思っただけよ」
Mitsuko's last words, Battle Royale

LennyLen
Member #5,313
December 2004

If you want to convert from an integer to a string with a specified radix, use itoa().

itoa()

Bob Keane
Member #7,342
June 2006

Thanks for the help. If I were adding the numeric value to the end of an existing string, would the format be:

char buffer[16} = "<some characters>";
int place;
char c;
c = sprintf(buffer, "%d", place);?

[/edit] I tried itoa, got an undefined reference to itoa.
[edit/]