Allegro.cc - Online Community

Allegro.cc Forums » Programming Questions » making scrolling and character movement work..

This thread is locked; no one can reply to it. rss feed Print
making scrolling and character movement work..
red-dragon
Member #7,722
August 2006

Ok,
I can see much flack coming for this. But yeah, I still need help. I thought making a new thread was in order, since this code might get confused with the other I posted.

I have some code here. I've never done this before. I'll start slow. Variables/predefined processors etc. you should know:
#define WIDTH 640
#define HEIGHT 480
#define TILEW 32
#define TILEH 32
#define MAP_ACROSS 31
#define MAP_DOWN 33
#define MAPW MAP_ACROSS * TILEW
#define MAPH MAP_DOWN * TILEH
#define BOTTOM MAPH-HEIGHT
#define LEFT MAPW-WIDTH
int scrollx=LEFT, scrolly=BOTTOM;

1if(scrolly < 0) scrolly = 0;
2if(scrolly > BOTTOM) scrolly = BOTTOM;
3if(scrollx < 0) scrollx = 0;
4if(scrollx > LEFT) scrollx = LEFT;
7 //border/edge detection
8 if (link->x > SCREEN_W-22)
9 {
10 link->x = 0;
11 scrollx += SCREEN_W;
12 }
13 else if (link->x < 0)
14 {
15 link->x = SCREEN_W-22;
16 scrollx -= SCREEN_W;
17 }
18 else if (link->y > SCREEN_H-24)
19 {
20 link->y = 0;
21 scrolly += SCREEN_H;
22 }
24 else if (link->y < 0)
25 {
27 link->y = SCREEN_H-24;
28 scrolly -=SCREEN_H;
29 }

Problems with this: An error occurs when you try to go all the way up. You start at the bottom, you go up and the map changes fine, then you try to go up once more, and instead of map change, the error occurs and app. has to be closed. I think I know why this is. I'm not sure I understand all of the math, I tried to follow the book: