Allegro.cc - Online Community

Allegro.cc Forums » Programming Questions » Screen "Scrolling"

Credits go to Ariesnl, gnolam, James Stanley, Kikaru, LennyLen, and Tobias Dammers for helping out!
This thread is locked; no one can reply to it. rss feed Print
 1   2 
Screen "Scrolling"
Simsimius
Member #6,017
July 2005

Well, here's the story.

I decided to make my first game that uses an area larger then the default game screen. Since I've never done this before, I got the basic game template I always use. So the game has a black background, and one sprite.

Because in order to create a larger area I defined the size of the virtual screen.

#include <allegro.h>

#define VIRTUAL_W 2400;
#define VIRTUAL_H 1800;

And in my movement code, I have this:

1void GetControls()
2 {
3 if(key[KEY_UP]) { if(ypos - speed < 0) ypos = 0; else ypos -= speed; }
4 if(key[KEY_DOWN]) { if(ypos + speed + sprite->h > SCREEN_H) ypos = SCREEN_H - sprite->h; else ypos += speed; }
5 /*
6 if(key[KEY_LEFT]) { if(xpos - speed < 0) xpos = 0; else xpos -= speed; }
7 if(key[KEY_RIGHT]) { if(xpos + speed + sprite->w > VIRTUAL_W) xpos = SCREEN_W - sprite->w; else xpos += speed; }
8 */
9 if(key[KEY_RIGHT]) {CPlayer1::move_right();}
10 if(key[KEY_LEFT]) {CPlayer1::move_left();}
12 }
15void CPlayer1::move_right() {
16if(xpos + speed + sprite->w > SCREEN_W) xpos = SCREEN_W - sprite->w; else xpos += speed;
17if(xpos == SCREEN_W - sprite->w) {scroll_screen(800, ypos);}
18//CPlayer1::animate();
19}
20void CPlayer1::move_left() {
21if(xpos - speed < 0) xpos = 0; else xpos -= speed;
22//CPlayer1::animate();
23}

I'm trying to get the current screen to go the next area (Normally, X=0. I want the X=800, which is the next area/screen).

Any help with what I'm doing wrong?

____
There's no place like 127.0.0.1

James Stanley
Member #7,275
May 2006

Can we see your scroll_screen function?

Simsimius
Member #6,017
July 2005

I'm using the Allegro scroll screen:

int scroll_screen(int x, int y);

Quote: