Allegro.cc - Online Community

Allegro.cc Forums » Programming Questions » allegro mouse distortion question

This thread is locked; no one can reply to it. rss feed Print
allegro mouse distortion question
kholdstayr
Member #7,575
August 2006

I am a complete Allegro newbie and I am trying to start making a simple Solitaire card game just to have some fun with Allegro. Anyway, I am having some troubles with the mouse cursor in Allegro. I have a simple program that just displays a screen with a black background and a green box. If I move the mouse cursor over the box the box gets erased by the mouse cursor, and turns black (which is the color of the area behind the box).

I was thinking that the problem was that I wasn't hiding the mouse cursor properly, but I think I am doing it correctly. Here is my code:

1#include <pc.h>
2#include <allegro.h>
3using namespace std;
5int main()
6{
7 allegro_init();
8 set_color_depth(16);
9 set_gfx_mode (GFX_AUTODETECT, 640, 480, 0, 0);
10 install_timer();
11 install_mouse();
12 select_mouse_cursor(MOUSE_CURSOR_ARROW);
13 enable_hardware_cursor();
15 show_mouse (screen);
17 BITMAP* bmp = create_bitmap(640, 480);
18 clear_to_color (bmp, makecol16(0,0,0));
21 rectfill(bmp, 150, 400, 230, 450, makecol16(0,255,0));
22 show_mouse(0);
23 blit(bmp, screen, 0, 0, 0, 0, 640, 480);
24 show_mouse(screen);
26 sleep(5);
28}

I am using the sleep function just to have the graphics run for a few seconds so I can test the mouse out. It's not necessary at all.

Kitty Cat
Member #2,815
October 2002

The mouse will be hidden automatically if it needs to be. Once you call show_mouse(screen); you can't call show_mouse again without losing the hardware cursor.

--
"Do not meddle in the affairs of cats, for they are subtle and will pee on your computer." -- Bruce Graham

kholdstayr
Member #7,575
August 2006

When I try it without the show_mouse(0) it makes it worse, and the mouse messes up even more.

Richard Phipps
Member #1,632
November 2001