Allegro.cc - Online Community

Allegro.cc Forums » Programming Questions » C with structs or C++ with classes... Your choice and why.

This thread is locked; no one can reply to it. rss feed Print
C with structs or C++ with classes... Your choice and why.
David_at_wedu
Member #7,407
June 2006

I'll admit that I am new to C/C++ programming. I've been doing my studies via online resources and a few different game programming specific books. The one that I'm currently reading presents its code strictly in C. The best example I can give is that the objects the character controls are defined as structs(). The initial book I read however, was C++ all the way, so it talked of using classes and objects.

I guess my question is are there any advantages to using one over the other?

Again, I apologize for my newbie-ness... Just looking to get off on the right foot. :)

ReyBrujo
January 2001

It depends. C++ is a superset of C, so anything you would do in C you can do in C++. Of course, a good design usually divides the program in objects. For big programs, a class structure really helps. You can easily implement a lot of design patterns in C++ that will make the code better maintainable(sp?) and easily expandible(sp?).

--
RB
光子「あたしただ…奪う側に回ろうと思っただけよ」
Mitsuko's last words, Battle Royale

23yrold3yrold
Member #1,134
March 2001

Quote:

I guess my question is are there any advantages to using one over the other?

None. Just depends which interface you prefer working with.

Someone may be able to come up with some obscure programming feature the C++ way makes easier, but I'm too lazy.

--
Software Development == Church Development
Step 1. Build it.
Step 2. Pray.

Steve++
Member #1,816
January 2002