Allegro.cc - Online Community

Allegro.cc Forums » Installation, Setup & Configuration » Installing allegro and/with dev-cpp

This thread is locked; no one can reply to it. rss feed Print
Installing allegro and/with dev-cpp
Don Juan
Member #6,784
January 2006

Hello everyone,

I am a complete and utter newbie when it comes to programming. This sounds kind of silly coming from the mouth of a third year software engineering student but fact of the matter is, I know absolutly nothing. In the midst of all the theoritical stuff on how to optimize my algorithm and how to make sure my software is of good quality they forgot to make us practice the theory (granted I could of practiced on my own...).

Anyways, I currently bought a book on how to program games using C and the Allegro library. Being excited and extremely motivated I made it to page 55 of 500 only to get stuck in the installation! I followed every step (I think... I tried like five times...) only to fail.

I figured I could try to download the latest version of both dev-cpp and allegro but the site that contains the tutorial on how to install them doesn't exist (error 404)... See, I don't really know how libraries and dev-cpp "hold hands" and I was never able to make them work!

So... if any of you guys know a good site (for a dummy) that explains how to install both these things together and explains why things are done without skipping any steps could you please refer me to them?

Thanks a lot in advance :)

Seb

[edit] PS: If there are no good webpages on the subject but someone is generous enough to help me install it, that is acceptable too :P
I've tried on and off again to install different libraries to program games only to get stuck at the library's installation... However this time I really do want to succeed but I also want to understand why I did something!

khristina yer
Member #5,795
May 2005

I might be wrong but I believe there is some documents in the src folders of allegro
under docs/doc.