Allegro.cc - Online Community

Allegro.cc Forums » Game Design & Concepts » Sprites in Photoshop

This thread is locked; no one can reply to it. rss feed Print
Sprites in Photoshop
Player
Member #6,274
October 2005

I am a little bit new to Photoshop so does anyone know how to make sprites side by side in photoshop for animation. I also want to make the spacing even. Thanks in advance.:D

Kevin Epps
Member #5,856
May 2005

I'm not an artist or anything, but I know a lot of people that use Graphics Gale as their Sprite editor and animator. It's easier to do pixeling. But if you want to stick with photoshop, you can use imageready. Imageready is great for animation and animation gifs.

Player
Member #6,274
October 2005

No but I don't want gifs because they take up a lot of room and it is hard to make them compatible with directx. So I wanted to know how to make the images side by side evenly and i just can't quite seem to do it.:'(

Paul whoknows
Member #5,081
September 2004

Photoshop was not designed for sprite creation, if by "sprite" you mean sprite, you'll need something else:
You can make your sprites with a true pixel editor, like "Deluxe paint", "Autodesk", even with "ms-paint", once you have your blocky sprites, then it's PS time.
Now you can do antialiasing, resizing, filters, convertions, whatever.

____

"The unlimited potential has been replaced by the concrete reality of what I programmed today." - Jordan Mechner.

Archon
Member #4,195
January 2004

Weren't you investing in Maya?

Jonatan Hedborg
Member #4,886
July 2004

Why would photoshop not be good for sprites? It has excellent brushes without AA and is great for pixel work. As for spacing it up... what exactly do you mean? Do you want say 10 64*64 images next to each other oslt? do you want "frames" in which you draw each sprite? If the latter, then you can make an image with the border, make it a pattern and then fill the image with that pattern.

LordHolNapul
Member #3,619
June 2003