Allegro.cc - Online Community

Allegro.cc Forums » Allegro Development » Allegro Naming Conventions

This thread is locked; no one can reply to it. rss feed Print
 1   2   3 
Allegro Naming Conventions
Niunio
Member #1,975
March 2002

I know I'm late, but I want to give my opinion about that C Vs. C++ in Allegro's API.

I don't want to boast myself but I must say that I have a lot of years of experience coding applications and I can code both C and C++, as well than other languages. So, I know about that.

You must know that: each programming language was designed to resolve a single problem. Some examples: FORTRAN was designed to resolve mathematics problems, COBOL to build business applications, BASIC was designed for educational purposes, LOGO for sightly different educational purposes, SCUMM to write adventure games, etc.

C was designed to write operating systems (more specifically, it was designed to write THE operating system named UNIX-I). So C is one of the best languages to code low-level operations.

C++ was designed to make the Object Oriented Programing philosophy applicable in a C environment in a more easy way (the key is more easy, since you can apply OOP using only plain C). Now, the OOP philosopy was created for fast coding and fast reuse. Those concepts was encouraged from the coding on demand, that is, to write end-users applications in short time (that's why most of actual on-demand enterprises uses ObjectivePascal (Delphi) and Java). So, OOP was created to write final applications. So C++ was designed to write final applications. So C++ wasn't one of the best languajes to write low-level operations.

Allegro's name cames from Atari-ST Low-Level Game ROutines. So (you guessed it) I think the Allegro API must be writed and designed in plain C.